September 25, 2026 · 11 min read

This article is for general educational and career information only. It is not legal or medical advice. Scope-of-practice rules change and differ by state: confirm with your state board before you act.

Key Takeaways

  • PRP training covers three separate regulated acts: drawing blood, spinning it in an automated separator, and injecting or microneedling the platelet-rich layer back into the skin.
  • The FDA's Class II clearance for PRP separators, 21 CFR 864.9245, covers the device that processes the blood; it does not name an aesthetic or hair-restoration use.
  • In California, blood may be drawn by a licensed provider, a certified phlebotomy technician (Business and Professions Code 1246), or a medical assistant who meets the venipuncture training rules of 16 CCR 1366.1 under supervision.
  • In Florida, skin perforation "by any means" and injections are medical purposes outside a cosmetology license (Rule 61G5-18.00015).
  • A 2024 CDC investigation linked an HIV cluster in New Mexico to an unlicensed spa offering PRP microneedling facials: four former clients and one sexual partner of a client were diagnosed.

PRP training teaches three acts. You draw a client's blood. You spin it in a cleared blood-cell separator. You inject or microneedle the platelet-rich layer back into the skin. Your license decides which of these acts you may perform, not the course certificate. The answer changes by state. The FDA clearance behind the device covers the centrifuge and its process. It does not cover a facial or hair indication.

This guide splits the three acts apart. It shows who may perform each, where a primary law was checked. It explains what the FDA record says. It covers the research by topic. It walks through a 2024 outbreak that shows what a license gap costs. It also compares course prices against checked hours.

What does PRP training teach?

A PRP course can teach up to three acts. A certificate does not tell you which ones your license lets you perform:

  • Draw. You take a venous blood sample. Phlebotomy certification tests this skill.
  • Process. You load the tube into an automated blood-cell separator. This step concentrates the platelet-rich layer.
  • Deliver. You inject the plasma, or drive it into the skin with a microneedling device.

A PRP certification proves you sat through a PRP training course. It covers all three steps. It does not prove you may perform any one of them. That comes from your own license, covered next. Most PRP course buyers hold, or are working toward, this one credential. See how to become an aesthetic nurse, the license path most PRP course buyers already hold or are pursuing.

Who can perform each step of PRP?

The rules are written per act, not per treatment name. Only two states here have a primary source pulled and quoted.

Who may perform each step of PRP, by state

StateDraw the bloodProcess in the separatorInject or microneedlePrimary source
CaliforniaLicensed providers; certified phlebotomy technicians (BPC 1246); trained medical assistants under supervision (16 CCR 1366.1, adopted under BPC 2069 and 2070)Not addressed by this statute; the FDA clearance covers the device, not who may operate itGoverned by the performing professional's own scope of practiceBusiness and Professions Code Section 1246
FloridaNot addressed by this cosmetology ruleNot named in this ruleSkin perforation "by any means," including injections, is a medical purpose beyond a cosmetology license (Rule 61G5-18.00015)Florida Administrative Code 61G5-18.00015
TexasCheck your state boardCheck your state boardCheck your state boardQuote required
New YorkCheck your state boardCheck your state boardCheck your state boardQuote required
California and Florida rows quote the primary statute or rule text, checked 2026-09-25. Texas and New York show "check your state board" because no primary statute, board rule or determination letter was verified this session; this draft does not name a code section for either state.

The pattern across the two confirmed states holds. The draw is a phlebotomy-level act. The device clearance covers processing, but not who may run it. Delivery falls under the performing professional's own license, not an esthetics license.

Enhance.work - Blog - PRP training - gloved clinician loading blood tubes into a centrifuge in a bright clinic

Can an esthetician do PRP or PRP microneedling?

In Florida, no. The rule for cosmetology and facial specialist licenses defines "medical purposes" as "any form of bodily intrusion into the orifices, skin, muscles, or any other tissues of the body," and it also lists "skin perforation by any means, including... injections" as beyond the scope of that license. Microneedling perforates the skin. Injecting PRP is named outright. Both delivery methods sit outside a standard Florida cosmetology or esthetics license.

A common shortcut assumes that skipping the blood draw settles the question. It does not. The delivery step carries its own separate rules. In every state checked this session, PRP counts as three separable acts, not one. Microneedling's place in an esthetician's scope is its own question. See what a microneedling certification proves and who may legally perform the treatment by license.

Is PRP FDA approved for aesthetics?

No single PRP product is FDA-approved for an aesthetic or hair use. The FDA has cleared only the device that splits blood into its parts. Regulation 21 CFR 864.9245 names "an automated blood cell separator" a device that "uses a centrifugal or filtration separation principle" to withdraw, separate and collect blood parts.

This rule places it in Class II. Read the federal regulation 21 CFR 864.9245 that classifies the automated blood cell separator used to process PRP. Nothing in the text names aesthetic use, hair restoration or facial rejuvenation.

The FDA's own database lists three related product codes. GKT covers a diagnostic blood-cell separator. PMQ covers "preparation of autologous platelet rich plasma gel from a small sample of peripheral blood for wound management". ORG covers "preparation of autologous platelet rich plasma... for mixing with bone graft". Wound management and bone-graft handling are the stated uses.

None covers hair restoration or facial rejuvenation. The 510(k) clears the machine and its process. Using the resulting PRP on hair or skin counts as off-label use of a cleared device, not an FDA-approved aesthetic treatment. Treat any brand's claim of clearance "for hair" or "for face" as unverified unless you read that brand's own cleared indication yourself.

What does the research say PRP does?

The short answer: some signal of benefit, low certainty. Here is what each review concluded, in its own terms.

Enhance.work - Blog - PRP training - evidence ladder showing that even meta-analyses and overviews report mixed results and low certainty for aesthetic PRP
  • Androgenetic alopecia. A 2026 meta-analysis of nine randomized trials (Umar et al., PMID 41219547) found no clear advantage of PRP over topical minoxidil. It looked at hair density, terminal hair count and moderate to high regrowth. Patient satisfaction was higher with PRP. A 2024 meta-analysis (Yao et al., PMID 39197003) found that adding PRP to minoxidil improved hair density. It rated the evidence "very low-quality".
  • Facial rejuvenation. A 2025 systematic review of 20 studies (Qin et al., PMID 40167104) found the strongest evidence for skin thickness and elasticity. It found the weakest evidence for hydration. A 2025 review of the eye area (Sollitto et al., PMID 41190633) found PRP worked better for pigmentation. It found PRF worked better for texture and fine lines. Neither showed proven superiority.
  • Acne scars with microneedling. An overview of 15 systematic reviews (Cruciani et al., 2024, PMID 37677095) rated the certainty "very low to low" and said it "does not support clear clinical decision" on PRP combined with microneedling or laser. A small split-face trial of 30 patients (Ismail et al., 2022, PMID 36219518) found better results when PRP was added to microneedling. A 2022 meta-analysis (Ebrahimi et al., PMID 35795892) found the same.

For a course buyer, that matters in two ways. A course that promises guaranteed results is overselling the science. And your consent talks with patients must show the same doubt.

What went wrong at the New Mexico "vampire facial" spa?

A 2024 CDC investigation is the clearest lesson on what a bad PRP setup looks like. The report describes the treatment plainly: "the procedure involves drawing a client's blood, separating the blood into its components of plasma and cells". The report names four former spa clients and one sexual partner of a client.

Enhance.work - Blog - PRP microneedling training - instructor supervising a student during a microneedling demonstration

All were diagnosed with HIV between 2018 and 2023, with highly similar virus strains, linked to a single spa. At that spa, "disposable electric desiccator tips were cleaned by alcohol immersion" and "unwrapped syringes were found in drawers, on counters". The report states plainly that "spa A's owner operated without appropriate licenses at multiple locations."

Read the CDC investigation of presumptive HIV transmission linked to PRP microneedling facials at an unlicensed spa in New Mexico. A license gap and a sterile-technique failure happened together here. A course that only teaches the technique, without hands-on infection control and single-use handling, is not teaching the whole job.

How much does PRP training cost?

PRP course prices and hours as published

SchoolPriceHoursHands-onCME/CE
AAOPM$1,799 list; livestream discounted to $799 to $849Not verifiedYes, live patients under supervision, per the school's page6.5 CME credits, ACCME accredited
Empire Medical TrainingStarting at $1,599 to $1,699, varies by location and date8-hour programYes, live with post-course mentor supportCME-accredited, AMA PRA Category 1 credits
PracticalCME$1,795 online only; $2,095 to $2,695 blended (online plus hands-on)12.75 combined contact hours: 7.75-hour accredited streaming course plus 5 hours live hands-onYes, for the blended package7.75 AMA/AANP/ANCC credits; 5-hour AAFP elective for the hands-on
National Laser InstituteNot stated1-day course; exact hour count not statedYes, clinical hands-on training per the school's pageCE/CME offered; hours not stated
Prices and hours copied from each school's own page, checked 2026-09-25. AAOPM's hours are "Not verified" because the source page's own wording is inconsistent.

What should a PRP course include before you pay?

Ask the school to confirm, in writing, that the course covers:

  • Phlebotomy practice. Supervised, hands-on blood draws, not a video, if your license covers that step.
  • The separator's protocol. How to load, spin and read that device. The FDA clearance covers the device, not a brand's marketing claim.
  • Sterile technique and single-use handling. How you clean or discard disposable versus reusable parts. The New Mexico case above ties a failure here to HIV transmission.
  • Microneedling depth control, if delivery includes microneedling.
  • Consent and complication handling, including what to do if something goes wrong.

Frequently asked questions

What qualifications do I need to do PRP?

It depends which of the three acts you mean. Drawing blood, processing it and delivering it fall under separate rules. In the two states checked here, each act traces back to your own license, not a PRP certificate.

How do I get certified to do PRP?

A course such as those compared above teaches the technique. Course certification is not the same as a license. That comes from the license your state already needs for that act.

Can an esthetician do PRP?

In Florida, no. The rule for cosmetology and facial specialist licenses places skin perforation "by any means," including injections, outside that license's scope. That scope covers both microneedling and injecting. Check the same rule in your own state.

Can a phlebotomist do PRP?

A phlebotomist's certification covers the draw, not processing or delivery. In California, certified phlebotomy technicians (BPC 1246) and medical assistants who meet the training rules of 16 CCR 1366.1 may draw blood under supervision. Giving PRP is a separate act, with its own rules.

Is PRP treatment legal in a med spa?

It can be legal. Someone whose license covers the act must perform it, and the facility must hold the licenses its state needs. The 2024 New Mexico investigation above shows what happens when a spa skips both.

Can you do PRP training online?

Parts of it. PracticalCME sells a $1,795 online-only theory option. Every school reviewed here that states its format also needs a separate hands-on part. That part covers the draw, the separator and delivery.

How much does PRP training cost?

Among schools with a verified price, courses range in cost. The low end is about $1,599 (Empire). The high end is $2,695 (PracticalCME's blended package). AAOPM lists $1,799, discounted to $799 to $849 for livestream. National Laser Institute does not publish a verified price.

What is the difference between PRP and PRF?

Both start from a client's own blood. The systematic reviews cited above (PMID 40167104; PMID 41190633) treat PRP and platelet-rich fibrin as related, distinct preparations. The reviews compare them against each other, not as the same thing. This evidence pull does not detail the processing gap further.

Sources and how we checked them

License the act, then buy the course that trains it

PRP is not one credential. It is three acts stacked under one name, and each answers to a different line in your state's rules. Work out which acts your license covers and which need supervision. Confirm the school teaches the sterile technique the New Mexico case shows a course cannot skip. See how IV therapy certification fits an aesthetic and med spa career as a nurse add-on credential. If injectables are next, see the national, numbers-first audit of Botox and filler training courses by price and contact hours.

🎯 Browse aesthetic and med spa roles hiring for PRP add-on skills right now, and confirm with each employer which of the three acts your license lets you perform.